Database for an App

Hello, I’m new with ember. For my app I want to add, list, edit and remove data secure in a database. For that i used PHP and MySQL yet. Now I want to use Amber to do that.

What is the best way to do that ? Can/should I use an MySQL/MariaDB Database for that? When which Add-on can I use for that ? Is it easy to write my own adapter for that ? Do you recommend an other database?

I’ve got an linux EC2 instance to use and can install everything there.

Thanks for your help.

Hi Kevin, I think you’ll find that the database doesn’t matter as much as the conventions you use when coding your API. Ember supports three standard adapter/serializer types out of the box: JSON (raw json objects), REST (very similar to JSON but wrapped in objects with type keys), and JSON API (a whole different spec). Depending on what server framework you use you could create an API that serves any one of these with pretty much any database. Of course you can customize any of those or write your own from scratch, it’s usually easiest to use the stock ones though if you can, and sticking with a convention like JSON API can make your life easier on the server side as well.

If you don’t to code your own API server you could use Firebase or PouchDB (I’m sure @broerse can weigh in more on that). Firebase at least is better suited to simpler database designs with little backend logic.

So if I understand it right then I need to write an API that serve Databases data in JSON or REST format and after editing push it back to the database ?

That’s sounds complicated. Thought there is an easier way to do that. How is it with Firebase or PuchDB ? Do they do that for me ?

Yup that’s pretty much it. And yeah it’s definitely complicated. Ember is front-end only, as are any javascript SPA frameworks these days.