Fetching values from database as drop down box options

Hi, I am new to ember and I am trying to create an drop box whose values I want to fetch from database. Can anyone help me understanding the step by step procedure? Thanks in advance.

High-level you need something along the lines of the following:

API layer

To get the data from the database to your client-side code you’ll need an API layer on the server side. Hopefully you already have that or are aware of it. If not here’s a very brief overly simplified overview of what/why:

an API layer would be the part of your server that:

• receives an HTTP request from your client (the Ember app)
  • makes a database query to your database
  • transforms the database data into some sort of JSON format
  • sends the transformed data back to the client

There are lots of options. You can use something like Firebase for a “backend as a service” if your backend needs simple, or you could write one with one of the popular API frameworks like Express (Node/Javascript), Rails (Ruby), Django (Python), etc. There are also some very nice GraphQL frameworks and BAAS solutions out there (I think Hasura is one?).

Ember can consume API data in any format and through any means of fetching but the simplest and most straightforward is to use JSON:API or Rails ActiveRecord format coupled with Ember Data.

Fetch the data

Once you have a backend API which serves as the “face” of your server you can make a query from your Ember code. The easiest place to put this code is in the model hook of a route in Ember. This section of the guides demonstrates a very simple example of a model hook with either fetch or with Ember Data.

Render the data