Opinions on best Ember Workflow

Hello Ember Community!

I am trying to gather a few opinions (and perhaps some hard facts) about common Ember workflow, methodology, practices etc. and hopefully some of you can chime in with your thoughts.

My background is Vanilla HTML, Vanilla CSS, Vanilla JavaScript, so my head is spinning with all these fancy new pre-processors, CLI build tools, and JS Frameworks.

Fortunately, I am no technophobe and have already been, learning Ember, learning Sass, running node, bower, grunt, brunch, yeoman… just to figure out how to use them all.

I know how to install some app environments, like Ember App Kit, Foundation, Bootstrap for Ember, etc.

I am still fuzzy on how to put them all together and start developing efficiently though from design to development to production.

Should I be starting out by building full static web pages and then slicing them up manually into separate template files and components? Or should I be somehow designing everything in modules from the get-go, in one environment?

Does it make sense to have a “Design” environment, which has all my design/layout frameworks (like, Brunch, Bootstrap, Foundation, sass, compass, etc) which I can make all my page designs… and then a separate “Development” environment (Grunt, Ember App Kit, etc) where I break down the final design into handlebars, components, views, controllers, and such?

It seems like in that case there would be two separate workflows with a bottleneck where I am manually slicing things up and transferring them… unless there is something in between that I am missing?

I am still new to the whole methodology. I have read and followed through the “Getting Started” tutorial on Ember homepage, but that tutorial starts with a HTML file and CSS file already finalized and just jumps in to the “ember-izing” steps.

Do you all have any thoughts about a proper workflow from design to production? can it all be done in one automated environment?