What do you think about of using ember.js in a non-spa?

Hi, I’m new in Ember.js, i have some questions:

1. What do you think about of using Ember.js in a non-spa?.
  2. Could I lose some functionality?.
  3. Ember.js are thinking to work this way?

Thanks!

1. You can but there is no advantage loading Ember.js in every route.
  2. It will be harder to share data between routes.
  3. You can perhaps say that using Ember Fastboot without booting Ember on the frontend works in a non-spa way. This is not what Fastboot is intended for and I don’t think people work this way.

You can use something like WordPress on the backend and still use Ember.js on the frontend but it will still be a spa. See this site that works with WordPress and Ember: http://kerstenconstructie.com/

Yes, there have been some discussions around making it smaller and lighter. Details are still being worked out, but I may shift a few clients to it if/when it arrives, as I don’t always need full SPA functionality.

But nothing has been announced or shipped yet … :wink:

Thanks to both!

I understand it’s best to create a SPA, at least until there is news :slight_smile:

Cheers!

Ember is definitely for SPA. I think what you are thinking is having the template engine work standalone. In which case, there are plan to decouple Glimmer engine from Ember so that you can use it alone (without router, controller, or data binding)

If you don’t want a SPA there are plenty of great alternatives out there. Better to choose something else rather than waiting for a SPA framework like ember to change to meet your requirements.

There is nothing wrong with building a non-SPA using Ember. At least in the future you would have to option to convert your app to being partially client side rendered.

Relevant talk: DrupalCon New Orleans 2016: Amazing User Experiences with Drupal and Ember - YouTube

1 Like