How to deploy Ember-Cli App in Tomcat

Hi, I am new to ember-cli. I developed my application. I read how to deploy the app in Heroku, but i need to know how to deploy the it in tomcat?

The output of ember-cli is a set of HTML, JS and CSS files. These can be deployed as any other static website.

I’ve never used tomcat, but I think these links will put you on the right track:

1. http://stackoverflow.com/questions/3954621/deploying-just-html-css-webpage-to-tomcat
  2. http://www.moreofless.co.uk/static-content-web-pages-images-tomcat-outside-war/

Most people will use scripts automating the process. The basics are something like this:

1. trigger [a cli command, commit to master branch on git repo, etc]
  2. run ember build --environment=production
  3. copy the files from /dist to a location on the webserver
  4. restart webserver (typically not needed)

fabric, capistrano and terraform are examples of tools that simplify deployment.

Tried using the methods shown above it didnt work as expected!!. There is no output on the screen,it shows no error in console and all the routes are shown when ember Inspector was used to debug.

1 Like

I am getting exactly the same as this

@Wayne_Douglas:

• Open config/environment.js
  • You could see baseURL as / . Change it to /your_app_root_folder (e.g: /myember) that will be stored under tomcat webapps/ folder.
  • In terminal, execute ‘ember build production
  • Now, copy /dist and paste it in tomcat webapps/
  • rename /dist to /your_app_root_folder (e.g: /myember)
  • Start tomcat and connect localhost:port/myember in browser.

This is worked for us. Anyway i am not sure what happening behind this scene, need to get clear with the concept.

2 Likes

Hey

I have had a level of success with

ember build --watch

and using bower link to push changes to my serverside project