Understanding ember in depth

Hi all.

I’m a javascript noob. How to go about learning ember js. I’ve tried learning from the official doc. But I don’t really seem to understand the concepts.

Any learning resource and methods would be highly appreciated. Thanks !

The book Rock and Roll with Ember.

Video courses by EmberMap and EmberCasts.

4 Likes

Are you able to articulate what the official docs have failed to help? We would really like to fill any knowledge gaps in those guides as much as possible.

2 Likes

@sukima For example, the hook order as mentioned in this article Ember Route Hooks — A Complete Look | Alex DiLiberto was not mentioned in the official doc. It took some time for me to figure out the order in which the hooks are called in the route. There are many such things. Do you want me to list ?

2 Likes

@JimParsons this is great feedback!

If you could share the list of things you had trouble with, it’d definitely be helpful.

2 Likes

A colleague just asked me the other day how to “extend” the Router service. Although this particular thing is tricky, I first had to explain that in Ember we can extend things by (1) knowing the original import path of a module, and (2) creating a new file where the resolver expects to find that module, and (3) importing , extending, and exporting that class. This is a piece of knowledge that I happen to know, but is not really documented anywhere as far as I know! Will add more if I think of them :slight_smile:

2 Likes

We all were at some point! I found the Eloquent Javascript book by Marijn Haverbeke helpful for walking through fundamentals of the language. If you prefer focused practice with code, I have been enjoying exercism.io for learning the fundamentals of a programming language. They have a JavaScript learning track.

3 Likes